Gentlemen Prefer Airheads

2001-03-06 - 05:57:39

David (he never comes to my page anymore either) was saying on ICQ the other night that it seems all our conversations seem to go back to me; strange, in a way, because it's the same with Connie's (his ex before me's) conversations. So I asked him, how it is that it makes Connie cute, and me not so. The difference, he says, is that she talks about fluff. She talks about the little things she did today, stuff she said, heard...nothing of much importance. Fluff. I, on the other hand, go into deep, and what he considers depressing, introspection. It gets depressing after a while, listening to me ponder about my problems.

He went on to tell me, as he has many a time, that that's what makes Jodi so cute. She acts ditzy. He says she's admitted it to him--she does it on purpose because she knows it's more attractive. Jodi does get serious in one-on-one conversations with him, but that's why, he claims, he likes her better when she's in a group and acting ditzy. Hm.

Well, we all know it's just stupid Dav, so it doesn't make a difference what he thinks, but he has this uncanny tendency to come up with the stupidest, most ridiculous, impossible observations that seem unbelievable at first...and often end up being true in some strange twisted yet universal sort of way.

So I don't know...do gentlemen really prefer airheads? Actually, I think the point of the movie, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, had more to do with, if you will, "girl power" than anything else. I particularly like those last lines that Marilyn Monroe's character says to her fiancee's father. Anyway, go see the movie, you deprived people who never watch AMC or TCM on cable. I saw that movie a really long time ago, and I can't remember the exact words, but I remember she made a really good point.




Webhost: Diaryland